Bucks Named as a Finalist for 2022 Bellwether Award

Tuesday, November 9, 2021

Bucks Named Bellwether Finalist

The Bellwether College Consortium recently announced its list of 30 community colleges selected as 2022 finalists for the highly coveted Bellwether Awards in the first round of competition. Bucks County Community College was selected as a finalist in the Instructional Programs and Services category for its submission, “Creating a Culture of Open at Bucks County Community College.” Bellwether finalists represent leading community colleges whose outstanding and innovative programs and practices were selected among competitive submissions as exemplary. The finalists will undergo a rigorous second and final round of review at the 28th Annual Community College Futures Assembly from January 30th to February 1st of 2022. Each selected college provides a 60-minute presentation on its program or model to an anonymous panel, recognized as skilled practitioners and thought leaders in the field. The Bellwether Awards are widely regarded as one of the nation’s most competitive and prestigious recognitions for community colleges.

"We are thrilled to be meeting in person this year! The Bellwether College Consortium prides itself on identifying and celebrating replicable, scalable and results-based programs and models and disseminating these highly lauded examples of institutional success to peer institutions," said Dr. Rose Martinez, director of the Bellwether College Consortium. The consortium honors community colleges with awards in three categories.

The Instructional Programs and Services category recognizes programs and services that foster or support teaching and learning in the community college. The following ten institutions have been named finalists:

  • Blinn College District
  • Bucks County Community College
  • Community College of Baltimore County
  • El Paso Community College
  • Horry-Georgetown Technical College (HGTC)
  • San Diego Mesa College
  • South Mountain Community College
  • Tulsa Community College
  • University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana
  • Yavapai College

Media Inquiries

Megan Smith
Executive Director, Marketing, PR & Creative Services
(215) 504-8543